Sustainability Leaders Awards 2015 Winners Revealed

From, Published on 19 November 2015

National Grid, Willmott Dixon and M&S are among the big winners of edie's 2015 Sustainability Leaders Awards, announced at a glittering ceremony in London.

The Grand Connaught Rooms were at full capacity on November 19, 2015 for the ninth year of the Awards which celebrate the individuals and organizations that are setting the standard when it comes to doing business better.

After a record-breaking year of entries , 88 finalists were whittled down by our esteemed panel of judges to 14 separate winners, with categories ranging from Energy and Water Management through to Sustainable Supply Chains, Employee Engagement and Product Innovation.

Opening the Awards, edie editor Luke Nicholls said: "The Sustainability Leaders Awards have become a shining example of how the green industrial revolution is entering the corporate mainstream.

"All of the 2015 finalists have shifted from talking about ambitious sustainability initiatives to delivering them at scale and at pace. And in many cases, they're already seeing a huge return on investment."

Big winners

Family-owned construction firm Willmott Dixon took home the coveted Sustainable Business of the Year award, with judges praising its exceptional progress on carbon reduction and scale of ambition on sustainability.

Supermarket groups Tesco and M&S also took top honors, winning the Employee Engagement & Behavior Change and Sustainability Reporting awards respectively. Meanwhile, Dutch fashion retailer and circular economy pioneer Mud Jeans took home the award for Sustainable Business Models.

Elsewhere, National Grid scooped the gong for Carbon Management, Heathrow Airport was awarded for its Energy Management, and Southern Water was the winner of the Water Management category.

In the two people categories, Veolia's Estelle Brachlianoff won the Sustainability Leader award, while Anthony Kingsley from Vacherin took home the Sustainability Professional award. Both were praised by judges for their passion and commitment to bring others along their sustainability journey.

Sustainability Leaders Awards 2015: The Winners

Sustainable Business of the Year - Willmott Dixon

Sustainability Leader - Estelle Brachlianoff, Veolia

Carbon Management - National Grid

Energy Management - Heathrow Airport

Employee Engagement & Behavior Change - Tesco with Global Action Plan

Sustainability Product Innovation - Genesis Biosciences

Sustainability Product Innovation: Energy Efficiency - Lontra

Sustainability Professional - Anthony Kingsley, Vacherin

Sustainable Business Models - Mud Jeans

Sustainability Reporting - Marks & Spencer

Sustainable Packaging - LINPAC Packaging

Sustainable Supply Chains - KPMG

Waste & Resource Management - DS Smith

Water Management - Southern Water

For additional reading on sustainability management, please refer to the following links:
5 Organizations with Leading Energy Innovations
How an Investment Plan Can Change the Way Europe Achieves Sustainability
Sustainability in the Supply Chain